….And then it all became clear

Today was like any other day, and then bammmmmmmmmmm.  I opened a random email from active…you know the emails I’m talking about if you have ever signed up for a real race.  They send you a million of them with random running topics.  Well for some reason I opened this one instead of throwing it into my trash…probably because I was feeling a bit unmotivated to run today and I was desperately searching for something to get me excited.  Well as I said……BAMMMMMM

Q: Are treadmills “easier” on your body than running outdoors?

Yes and no.

Longer answer: In general, running on a treadmill is less stressful on the body than running outdoors. John Post, the medical director for TrainingBible Coaching, explains that the treadmill absorbs a significant amount of impact, sparing your body. On the other hand, he says, “The downside is that it doesn’t condition the shock-absorbing musculature of the lower extremities like road running does.”

Result: Over the long term, heavy treadmill use may actually leave you more prone to injuries like stress fractures.

And with that, my mind was blown.  Well, not blown….but yes, blown.   I kinda knew this all along, but when the experts just come out and say it, it makes it more real to me.  What I’m referring to is that last sentence….about the stress fractures….I guess anyone who happens upon this post hasn’t learned EVERYTHING about me, but lets just say stress fractures and me are frenemies.  They want to be my b.f.f., but I just want them to go far, far away and bother another gal.

Anyway, every year that I train for a marathon, it is winter, it is freezing, and I don’t mix well with either of those.  So what happens is I spend a majority of my time training inside on my third b.f.f. (no where near as special as my first b.f.f., my iPod (no joke) and of course very close to my pal, stress fractures (sorry Turd, if you are even checking this site, you are fourth in line, but tied with S, Lil T, and K-Swizzle))—my third b.f.f., my TREADMILL.  I am still amazed that thing still works and hasn’t fallen apart.  We spend more time together daily than most people do with their significant other.  I’ve always thought that my relationship with my treadmill was an issue, however…I part from him (obviously my treadmill is a man.) for a minute and immediately I am hurt.  It’s like one awful abusive relationship.  Every year when the weather gets nice, I will venture outside and throw myself into an intense run, and again, BAMMMM.  Hello stress fracture, hello rest.

Turd has always insisted that my stress fractures were due to me running too often with too few breaks.  I often disagreed.  I always take 1-2 days off per week, while other bloggers seem to run double what I run and never take a day off.  I have always noticed the relationship with me starting to run outside and getting a stress fracture, but when I finally read that statement, it proved my point and finally made me think about what I’ve been doing.

The first thing I did, after re-reading that article, was send it to Mr. Turd.  The second thing I did was plan my run outside.  And then as soon as I got home (Yep, still got that motivation in me) I was out the door and getting in my miles in the burbs.  No treadmill for me today, and hell, I think no treadmill for me tomorrow.  I think I’ll hit up a local park.  I have gotten my motivation to run outside now…or at least for a while.  I will suck it up for the cold if it means I can keep running (and not have to deal with excessive medical bills for stupid injuries).  Like I wasn’t motivated enough, I then saw this blog post from someone I just started following, and BAMMMMM.   More things to think about.  Winter could suck its cold, nasty self because I am going to dominate it until Spring!

About edruns

I'm EMC. I love running, but lack motivation to get out the door some days, so that's what this blog is for! I live in PA with my fur babies. When I'm not trapped in the real world, I like to run, eat, sleep, play, create, and explore. Although I am mainly using this blog to track my life through my runs, I also might throw in some of my other passions. Please follow along with me!

Leave a Reply

